A joint committee of the EFTA states and Israel oversees the implementation of the free trade agreement (Articles 26 and 27). Israel was the first non-European country to share the European Union`s Framework Programme for Research and Technology Development (RDT). Israel`s special status is the result of its high scientific and research capabilities and the long-standing network of long-standing scientific and technical cooperation between Israel and the EU. In July 2004, the European Commission signed an agreement with Israel to participate in the EU`s GALILEO project for a global satellite navigation system. Since 2014, Israel has been a member of the European Scientific Organization (CERN) and is the only non-European member. The agreement with Israel provides for free trade rules for industrial goods and concession regimes for agricultural trade (a new agreement came into force in 2004) and opens the prospect of greater liberalization of trade in agricultural products and services from 2005. The Association Agreement was signed in Brussels on 20 November 1995 and came into force on 1 June 2000[5], after ratification by the parliaments of the 15 Member States, the European Parliament and the Knesset. It replaces the old cooperation agreement of 1975. A highlight of 2009 was the conclusion of an agricultural agreement between the EU and Israel. On 4 November 2009, the EC and Israel signed the new agreement on reciprocal liberalisation measures for agricultural products, processed agricultural products and fish and fisheries products.

It came into force on January 1, 2010. THE EFTA states signed a free trade agreement with Israel on 17 September 1992 in Geneva, Switzerland. The agreement came into force on January 1, 1993. Bilateral agricultural agreements were modernized and extended in Geneva on 22 November 2018. These new agreements will enter into force and replace existing agreements after ratification by the respective EFTA states and Israel. For more information on the new agreements, visit the page below. The agreement was signed on 26.7.99 and came into force on 1.5.2000. The full text of the agreement is available in the Official Journal of the European Communities L263 on 9 October 1999. The pan-Euro-Mediterranean cumulative system was introduced in 2005. It brings together the EU, Israel and other European and Mediterranean partners to support regional integration through the creation of a common system of rules of origin.

Rules of origin are the technical criteria for determining whether a particular product is eligible for duty-free access or other preferential access under a specific trade agreement. The main legal links between Israel and the EU are defined in the 1995 Association Agreement. [1] Several other agreements deal with sectoral issues. In 2013, the EU adopted a binding directive[46] which will require the Israeli government to declare, in future agreements with the EU, that settlements in the West Bank, including East Jerusalem, are located outside the State of Israel. The directive partly implements an earlier statement by EU foreign ministers [47] that “all agreements between the State of Israel and the EU must clearly and explicitly express their non-performance in the territories occupied by Israel in 1967.” [48] The guidelines prohibit the granting of EU grants, financing, prizes or scholarships to Israeli institutions, unless a transaction exclusion clause is included. Israeli institutions and institutions that are on the Green Line before 1967 will not be automatically eligible. The European directive is similar to the one signed in 1972 between the United States and Israel, in which Israel pledged, in exchange for scientific funds, to limit projects within the 1967 borders. [49] The guidelines do not restrict subsidies from EU Member States.

Before the guidelines were published, Israel experienced a political and media storm. [50] The media has suggested that Israel will act against the EU.